Category: Aragon (community)

Aragon is an autonomous community in Spain, coextensive with the medieval Kingdom of Aragon. The current Statute of Autonomy declares Aragon a historic nationality of Spain.

The Aragonese autonomous community comprises three provinces: Huesca, Zaragoza, and Teruel. Its capital is Zaragoza.

The Day of Aragon is celebrated on April 23 and commemorates Saint George, patron of the Kingdom of Aragon since 15th century. It appears in Article 3 of the Statute of Autonomy of Aragon since 1984. Institutional acts such as the delivery of the Aragon Awards by the Government of Aragon or the composition of a flag of Aragon of flowers, with the collaboration of citizens, in the Plaza de Aragón square of Zaragoza.

The Aragonese Pyrenees is located in the north of the province of Huesca and is arranged longitudinally in three large units: High Pyrenees, Intrapirenaic Depression and Outer Ranges.

Average temperatures are very dependent on height. In the Ebro Valley the winters are relatively moderate, although the frosts are very common and the thermal sensation can decrease a lot with the cierzo, temperatures in summer can reach near the 40 °C. In mountain areas winters are long and rigorous, average temperatures can be up to 10 °C lower than in the valley.

To avoid a long scroll, just use this search form.


Zaragoza is the capital city of the Zaragoza province and of the autonomous community of Aragon, Spain. It lies by the Ebro river and its tributaries, the Huerva and the Gállego, roughly in the...